Summer’s almost here!

The signs of summer are popping up all around us. And now, you can add four more to the tally. We are so thrilled to showcase your sneak peek at our fresh palettes for the season: Doodle Daisy, Lime’s Up, Priscilla Pink and Summer Cottage!

 

Dress up your desktop with the bright blooms of Summer …

 

Doodle Daisy

 

Lime's Up

 

Priscilla Pink

 

Summer Cottage

 

You can shop Summer 2012 when the collection arrives online and in stores Thursday, March 22!

 
This entry was posted in Pause for Product, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

187 Responses to Summer’s almost here!

  1. mamalish says:

    Love the new colors, especially Doodle Daisy. All of them bring summer a little bit closer!!!

    • Deb says:

      Vera Bradley is so popular in my daughter’s private elementary school here in Florida. The girls’ as young as kindergarten love Vera! In fact there are more Vera lunch boxes in the cafeteria that any other brand! My daughters ages 12 and 10 have carried a Vera Bradley Back pack and lunch bag for the past two years and wouldn’t think of carrying anything else.The quality alone speaks for itself, not to mention all the beautiful patterns! I am in my late 40’s and I carry a Vera Bradley back pack to all the theme parks here. It makes me feel hip! I would like to see a mother, grandmother and granddaughter clip for your next color-line because your bags transcend all generations! Love the new colors!!!

      • Will be in your neck of the woods in a couple weeks! Think I’m going to treat myself to a Doodle Daisy Hipster! (I love my Caffe au Lait hipster, but I need fun color for WDW!)

      • Gayle Brothers says:

        I agree with you 100%. I am 43 and have been carrying VB for 20yrs. Love it. And yes my 2yr daughter is a fan as well.

    • Barbara Ozor says:

      Very disappointed. VB is made in CHINA.

      • Anne says:

        I agree!!! What’s wrong with making them here in the USA?! Shame on VB!!! Also, I don’t like the new prints. Bring back the smaller ones so they don’t look like they come from Walmart.

      • Sue says:

        Me toooooooooooo

      • Elizabeth says:

        Hmmn. Did not know that. Imagine what could be done positively for American workers if VB were made by Americans! Sort of tarnishes the brand VB to know this. How do other customers feel about this???

      • Jeanette says:

        I am very disappointedto hear VB is made in China, Our country needs jobs and they surely make enough money to pay US workers. What a shame.

      • Julie says:

        I don’t think it matters where Vera Bradley products are made since we all know that the quality is above par.

      • Sally says:

        I agree! Funny how companies have their products made in China to “save money” but the products continue to go up in price. I only buy V.B. in the outlet store where I can check to see where it is made. Bought a purse last summer made in the USA but they are getting harder to find.

      • Geli says:

        It is very a disappointing. There are still some pieces made in the United States. If you go to a shop and look through you will find about half and half. What the company told me was that everything is manufactured and cut in Fort Wayne, Indiana. They ship all the ready to sew components to China where they are then sewn and finished then shipped back to the US. They do it to get ahead when new merchandise is due to launch. The initial product release is sewn in China and remaining product is sewn in the US. Still doesn’t make it better. It’s greedy.

      • Sally says:

        Wow. What’s woith all that shipping back and forth? That has to cost something, not to mention fuel burned during transport. Just hire more sewers here. I am sure there are plenty of people who would be willing to do that, esp. when jobs are so hard to find now.

    • Diane says:

      Yeah, I am racing to the store to purchasae the Daisy Doodle back pack for WDW. Hope to see you all there!

  2. Christi says:

    So so excited πŸ™‚

  3. Sean says:

    Can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait ❀

  4. dotmoody says:

    Limes Up and Priscilla Pink are my new favorites πŸ™‚

  5. Jill says:

    Colors are beautiful. I just wanted you all to know, I am a huge fan of Vera Bradley, however, I am a little upset. You seem to feature young girls in your ads. We over 50 love Vera too. It’s making me feel like I’m too old for your product. Why has this been a pattern lately? Thank you for your response.

    • Cairn2004 says:

      Personally, all I see are people over 40’s carrying Vera Bradley on their arms. I think they are trying to expand their market.

      • Anna says:

        Yes, my math teacher is over 50 and we have had discussions about how much we love VB (I am 15).

      • Susan says:

        I disagree. I teach college students, and I see a lot of the fraternity girls carrying Vera Bradley bags, totes, backpacks. I also saw several teens at Disney last week with Vera Bradley backpacks.

    • B says:

      I agree with Jill. LOVE Vera Bradley, but the focus does appear to be on the teens, Tweens, and some for under. I believe Vera as a product is broadening it’s appeal and rightly so, but we who are over 40 have been and continue to be your biggest fans. Please show your products used across the seasons of life. We all love the versatility and beauty of your products!

      • Ann says:

        I agree. I have bought Veras for a long time but now I am feeling like maybe I am too old for them.

      • Mary says:

        I am 50, I love Vera. However I personally have not ever seen anyone under 30 caring Vera. I tried to but some for my Granddaughter. She’s 15. She said no thanks. It’s too old looking for me.

      • Kara says:

        Just because ads don’t show 40 year olds doesn’t mean there not marketing to you. If you like them buy them. Not all of there “biggest” fans are just 40 year olds. They have big fans in every age range.

      • Jill says:

        I love Vera and of course will continue to purchase them. Like you, I am one of their biggest fans, just a little disappointed that they don’t have a cross-section of age groups in their advertisements. I love how you put it, “across the seasons of life”!!!

    • Holly says:

      I am not overe 50, but as a 30 something, I agree. I was thinking the same thing when I saw the last mailer.

      Please use all ages, and nationalities in your advertisements!
      Thanks!

      • Celia Olson says:

        My daughters are in their late 20s and they love them.

      • Ashleigh says:

        Im 21 and I have been in love with vera ever since I was like 15 ,16. I have a lot of friends that love vera, I think is better than coach or other name brand purses. Huge fan! I can’t wait to get the new patterns πŸ™‚

      • Kara says:

        Why should it matter what nationalities they use lol?

    • gail boyd says:

      Because you are only as young as you feel………………..I’m 60 plus and It doesn’t bother me the age of persons in commerical. When I carry my Vera Bradley I feel young. Join the girls and lets have fun.

      • robin says:

        My daughter is 13 and she loves Vera stuff.. She always loves to go to the Southpark Mall to the Vera stuff..

      • Wanda says:

        I am nearly 60, and have nearly 20 purses. I get compliments everywhere I go when people see my purses. I love them!!

    • Stephanie S. says:

      I think they already know they have the over 50 crowd. I think they are trying to market to the next generation. πŸ™‚

    • Diane says:

      I first found out about Vera Bradley because of the teenagers! I think in our community it started with them and the women caught on. My daughter is grown now and loves all the large totes, duffles, travel accessories and wristlets for her phone. I collect all the purses and wallets!

    • Kara says:

      If they showed 50 year olds in their ads, I wouldn’t feel too young for them. If you like them, buy them. It shouldn’t matter what age or even nationality is in their ads. If you like the product, buy them. There is a huge customer base in younger people, college and even younger. But there’s also just as huge base with people 30 and over. If you like it, buy it. You shouldn’t worry about it that much. Both my mother and I love vera bradley, I guess we just didn’t pay much attention to who was holding the bags. But it shouldn’t be a big deal especially when it’s known every age group buys vera.

    • I agree. I am over 50 too.

      Even though I quilt many purses, etc. for myself I still enjoy buying Very Bradley products.

    • Brenda says:

      I have to agree. . . on all points. 60 is the new 40. We – 55+ are still enagaged in paid work; caregiving – parents or grandchildren; creating, contributing; catalyzing. We aren’t going to retire for the foreseeable future. We too need the splashes of Vera all around us! Our portable lives necessitate a lot of Vera to get us there.

    • Mimi says:

      I am 60 and have been a collector since 1988. I DO NOT like the mod patterns they keep on showing. Please give us the classic country french patterns. You are losing alot of women in my age group, enough of the tween teen patterns!

      • Betsy says:

        I agree some of my favorite, classic patterns have been discontinued and I find less and less that I like.

      • Penny says:

        I agree whole heartedly. I am 53 and don’t care for the mod patterns that seem to cater to the younger set. I do love the classic country french patterns, most anything else that has a ‘soft’ pattern to it, like English Meadow. I haven’t bought VB much this past year due to the ‘loud’ patterns. Of the new patterns, I like the Summer Cottage the best.

      • Aimee B. says:

        This is very interesting! I often wondered if Vera was losing its original customer base because of their brighter mod patterns! I’ve been collecting since 2004, and have noticed they starting to go that way… I’m 30 and would like to see some classic patterns as well!

    • Liz says:

      I agree! I am a 64 year old and still feel like a “girl” at times but these ads are leaving me feel “left out.” I personally do not care for the new colors and prints except for Summer Cottage. I did not care for the video. It does not “speak to me.” Sorry, Vera Bradley….are you aiming just for the teens and twenty year olds only?

    • Dawn says:

      I agree… I love Vera Bradley, however as a mother of grown children I’m feeling as if your products are geared towards the younger generation..

    • Cynthia says:

      I know what you mean, Jill!!! I carried Vera at my school (I teach, over 50), for the last five years, and the high school gals didn’t start carrying Vera in earnest until last spring! (rural Ohio–everything takes longer to get here).
      One girl said to me, “You have Vera? I thought that was just for people my age!” 😦 Sad!
      Put us old gals in the ads, too! lol

    • jessica says:

      I totally agree with u they need to feature all 3 generations because vera is popular with all age groups. Also the younger high school girl only started liking vera once the company started over loading the system with some crazy patters!

    • Shannon says:

      I to have been noticing that trend…..I am glad I am not the only one!
      My Grandma is almost 89, my Mom is 64, and I am 42 and we all agree!

      I would like it if the company took actual customers, closer to beginning with my age and up and put them in their ads!

  6. Amy says:

    All I can say is….WOO-HOO!!!!!!!!! Can’t wait!!!!

  7. Zara says:

    Hard to believe Summer colors are almost here – I haven’t even snatched up everything I want from the Spring collection!

  8. Outfit 31 says:

    Luv them all!!! New and old!!!

  9. 30 Something who LOVES Veras too! says:

    A marketing campaign that showed ALL ages enjoying the products would be nice!

  10. Dianne Haerr says:

    LOVE them all!!! shhh don’t tell my hubby but I think I might need 4 new bags soon πŸ™‚

    • jessica says:

      I love VB and and have been a big fan for a while! Although I do agree with some of you who think that the patterns have been coming out so fast and they are very easy to make a knock off patterned bag they have them in alot of stores theese days. I spend the money for Veras cause I want it ti be reconized as a Vera! I do like LM & PP this time!

  11. Anita says:

    I agree with Jill- you have awonderful product and I always look forward to your new collections, but I am not in my 20’s and your ads are very age restricted. That is not really fair.

  12. Noel says:

    The little girl running up the stairs when you all are showing limes up- is that my favorite ever Vera product returning? The zip up shower caddy??

  13. Nicole says:

    Love Lime’s Up! Can’t wait!!

  14. Hiker Mom says:

    Love the Limes Up! As a 30 something I always thought that Vera Bradley was ‘old ladyish’. Most of the patterns reminded me of Grandma’s quilt. It has only been recently that I’ve seen more people my age carrying it. That, and your fresh patterns, have worked on me. I bought my first VB last fall and and looking to expand my collection this month. Thank you!

  15. Barbara says:

    Im liking Doodle Daisy real well right now…can’t wait!!

  16. Louise says:

    I work at a college and there are many students here who have been carrying Vera for quite a few years. My twin daughters, on the other hand, are 40 and they think Vera is only for older women because I’ve carried it since 1996. When they graduated from college, it wasn’t cool for young people to carry Vera, but it certainly does make sense for them to target young girls too.

  17. suzanne says:

    I agree-some new patterns are very teen oriented based on 60’s pop design. We that are over 40 or 50 lived that and need some fresh but appropriate designs. My new favorite is Suzani and I always have a black microfiber to mix in for work. In summer I like a basic pastel floral. Big print don’t work with most clothing. Still a fan and buy something new each year. But please but more metal feet on bottoms to keep cloth bottoms off floor.

  18. Carolyn says:

    It’s not even spring and you’re saying that summer is almost here? Did I miss something??

  19. MoriahN says:

    Ewww! To the lady over 50 that said Vera Bradley was for her too, she can have these bags! Ive heard people say that Vera Bradley is granny bags, and I totally disagreed until now! (I’m 16, by the way) Wow, the new patterns are so ugly! Why is Vera Bradley retiring all the good patterns? It is rumored that my fav patterns(viva la Vera, mocha rouge, and floral nightingale) will be retiring before the year is over! And I don’t have anything in those patterns yet! Why, Vera, why?

    • JBW says:

      Chill out Moriah-if they are retired they go ON SALE!!! which means YOUR MOTHER will spend less to buy them FOR YOU. GET IT?!?

    • Kara says:

      Wow you definatly show your age. There’s nothing wrong with a 50 year old saying these bags are for her too, that’s not “granny bags” nor are all granny bags ugly. If you dont like the patterns, dont buy them. And it’s not vera bradley’s fault you haven’t bought any of your “favorite” patterns yet.

      • MoriahN says:

        If only my mother would buy me bags! No, I buy all my own things. And what is wrong with me expressing my opinion? Isn’t that what you’re doing? Expressing you’re opinion of my comment?
        And granny bags are always ugly! I know teenagers that carry granny bags, and I know grandmas, old woman, that carry cute bags! But that doesn’t change the fact that they are granny bags!

    • I will say that I do get a little disappointed at how quickly new patterns get retired.

  20. Jill Flewitt says:

    I am SO digging the Summer Cottage. I can’t wait to see the Clare in person–I adore the Lizzy

  21. Marie says:

    Love to know who is the group singing that catchy tune for summer in the lake song. Awesome! Can’t wait for summer!
    Marie

  22. Terri says:

    Yuck too much black.

  23. denise says:

    Likin’ summer cottage! could use a new white purse!

  24. Once again Vera has hit a home run. Every color is gorgeous. THe video is adorable. I notice though that Vera targets the younger market.. what about us
    older “gals” (much older LOL) …. we love VB also. I am still waiting for a “dressy” Vera to use for special occasions and casual.

  25. Brenda says:

    I have to agree with those above who are disappointed that the youth are highlighted. I know my teenage daughter loves Vera, HOWEVER, it is her older mother that pays for her VB purses and accessories. I, too, love VB, so please start a multi-generational campaign. And FINALLY some awesome colors. I didn’t care for any of the new colors (my last favorite was Happy Snails, Fall 2011). So I’m very happy to see some colors that I will be purchasing. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Summer Cottage. I’m currently carrying my Pinwheel Pink for Spring, and it it very, very similar to the Priscilla Pink. I really liked the Ellie Blue colors, but personally don’t care for elephants on my clothing or accessories… but that’s just me.

    • Julie Miller says:

      just purchased my first VB in about 6 years. “Happy Snails” is so vibrant, brings my mood up every time I carry it. And I am loving Summer Cottage. Can’t wait to get it. Patterns in the last few years haven’t appealed to me, but looks like I’ll be getting back on the VB bandwagon!

    • Liz says:

      I Love the little Elephants and the Little Snails! I guess each to his own. I think Vera Bradley has quite a customer base so hopefully they will keep these little creatures “hiding” int he patterns!

  26. Judi Ballard says:

    I can understand wanting to expand the age group(younger) to bring in new VB customers( which is wonderful) but I agree with comments about the over 50 crowd. I addressed this issue with Barbara & Pat at a VB premiere for retail owners several years ago when I was assured that this age group would not be ignored. (it seems to have fallen on deaf ears) Having worked in a gift shop that carried Vera, we eagerly anticipated each new launch and HAD to have a LEAST one new bag. That is no longer the case..this will now be the 2nd launch in a row where we walk away empty handed. It would seem that with 4 new patterns released each launch, just ONE could feature a more traditional, smaller patterned design. My last favorite was Deco Daisy. My all time favorite-Americana Red.

    • Liz says:

      Actually, with the new summer 2012 launch, VB has done me a favor! I like the summer cottage but I am not sure of the white background in terms of keeping the item pristine and clean looking. However, I now may be able to keep my credit card in my wallet and NOT buy something new just because it has been launched. There is such anticipation of NEW patterns and I really have enough Vera Bradley to last me all my remaining days.(I must have 50 VB pieces already!) I just buy because of the beauty of the new patterns. Now, with the summer 2012 launch….that I am not liking so much….VB has done me a favor. I just may be able to break my addiction to Vera Bradley and buy no more! Thank you VB for saving me money!

  27. Andrea says:

    The Priscilla Pink caught my eye. It is beautiful!

  28. Elizabeth N. says:

    LOOOOVE Doodle Daisy!!!! πŸ™‚

  29. eva says:

    Vera is such a great textile designer. Vibrant and lively. Thank you for such great design quality.

  30. Would like to see more variety in the summer patterns—they all seem to portray floral themes. Would like to see geometrics, plaids, polka dots, insects, sun and clouds, nautical and beachy themes. The ideas are endless—variety is the spice of life!!!

  31. Nita says:

    Just got back from a cruise to Western Caribbean — everyone on board carried Vera Bradley! So many beautiful colors!

  32. KarenAnn says:

    Personally, I’m in my early 50’s but I think Vera is perfect for everyone! I travel alot and see Vera items on Tweens and beyond. I have fun looking at someone carrying a Vera and identifying the pattern!

  33. Jessie Simecek says:

    I love all the new colors, now to decide which one to get first!

  34. Anastasia says:

    I just wanted to say thanks Vera for another stylish season. All the students at my k through 12 school carry Vera and me as a 23 yr old teacher does too πŸ˜‰ 9 days and counting

  35. Kathy says:

    Does anyone else think that too many colors come out during the year? Why can’t we just have one series in the Fall and one series for the Spring? And the patterns are starting to look like previous patterns/colors. Before I can even buy one, it is “yesterday”, as 4 more colors have come out. I love Vera, but slow down!

    • Julie says:

      Yes, I was thinking many of these patterns are very similar to ones from several years ago. They seem to be almost duplicates. I like having more rollouts during each of the 4 seasons but maybe just 2 patterns instead of 3 or 4 each time They also seem to be retiring patterns very quickly which makes it hard to get all the items/accessories that one might want.

  36. SM says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who picked up on the marketing campaign towards tweens. Wow… market research anyone!?

  37. Becky says:

    In the town I live in every highschool girl and middle school girls wears a hipster. Vera is everywhere in our little piece of Missouri. On black Friday this year I got a bag for myself(i am
    28), my mother in law, a bag for my sophomore in highschool niece and one for my 3 year old daughter πŸ™‚

  38. kim farris says:

    All of the new patterns are just so beautiful with colors that match all my summer wardrobe. I have been given a last wish trip to the kentucky derby due to my downhill battle with cancer. I so want to purchase a new duffle in any of the new colors to have with me on my flight! Vera Bradley always is always with me in what bag I choose to use to my chemo treatments. Once again you have created wonderful patterns, THANKYOU!

  39. Whitney says:

    I am 25 and my friends and I enjoy Vera Bradley as well as my sister who is 19 and my mother who is 48… I feel like they touch among a lot of different ages with the variety of colors and bag styles… I think they may be aiming their campaigns to younger people right now but that doesn’t mean that they don’t appreciate the older people who are still fans, just means they are trying to get their products out there to new clients.

  40. Jan says:

    These new patterns are nice enough — but I keep looking for a new pattern that is predominantly orange. THE color for 2012 is Tangerine Tango; it’s all over the place in clothing and accessories. I realy do miss Paprika!

  41. LINDA says:

    I especially love Lime’s Up and Doodle Daisy. I will be ordering both patterns in one of the cute bags or totes for our summer cruise! Keep up the beautiful patterns VERA!

  42. Pamela says:

    Love the new patterns. I get compliments all the time on my Vera purses and bags! I always answer with Thanks! It’s my Vera Bradley bag…and I love them. I’m a walking advertisement/commercial. And, love getting the Desktop Patterns! Use and change them regularly. Thanks again, Vera Bradley!

  43. angel says:

    Vera is coming out with the patterns way too fast! I agree with some of the others I don’t have time to get all of the accessories to go with my favorite patterns. I love the pink one for summer.

  44. Meg says:

    what is the name of the song playing?

  45. LINDA says:

    I both agree and disagree with some of the comments above. I see lots of middle school girls carrying VERA totes, backpacks and cross body bags. But I also see people like myself who are over 50 carrying some of the larger totes and other accessories. Especially with careers such as physical therapists, teachers etc where we have to carry things to our jobs everyday but don’t have to carry leather attache cases.

  46. Martina says:

    I had no idea what Vera Bradley was until my daughter (16 yrs old) told me that “all the girls at school” had Vera Bradley. If you ever drive by a high school, take notice to how many young girls are into “Vera”. It works for any age woman.

  47. Erica says:

    beautiful

    Agree multi generational along with multi cultural would be nice.

  48. Tricia says:

    I work in a variety of elementary and high schools and I see MANY girls carrying their VB. When I get to the teacher’s lounge, the teachers are using VB lunch boxes. VB is everywhere!

  49. Lauren K. says:

    Yikes, there seems to be quite a number of people in an uproar over the age demographic shown in the video. First of all, I have noticed that in the catalogues, the “models” are mostly Vera Bradley designers and employees, plus a few friends and family members. I don’t know if this is also true of the videos, but I find it quite touching that Vera Bradley would choose to use its own employees to showcase their work, rather than hire externally. Second, the video shows a rather large age demographic as it is — we see youth, we see teenagers, we see young single women, we see moms. Yes, perhaps they could have thrown in a grandmother or two, but seriously? It’s no secret that companies today are trying to create life-long fans — folks who will buy their products for years and years and years to come — and that starts with today’s youth. I don’t blame Vera Bradley one bit, nor do I feel particularly bothered by their casting choices. Lastly, I have to refute the claims made that Vera is only carried by ladies over the age of 40. Personally, I am a 27-year-old elementary music teacher with about 15 or so Vera bags/accessories to her name. Some of my students (again, these are elementary-age kids) own MORE Vera than I do. Last month I attended an educators conference in San Antonio and, if I hadn’t known better, I’d have thought I was at a Vera Bradley event. Purses and totes were EVERYWHERE — and these are women ranging from their late teens to retirement age. Clearly, clearly Vera Bradley is not something that appeals exclusively to women over the age of 40.

    With regards to the video’s music, I could be wrong, but I believe it may be the Puppini Sisters. This song isn’t on any of their recordings (and a search for the song itself came up nil) but the sound is identical to theirs. Maybe it’s yet to be released? At any rate, if you enjoy the music in this video (ie, music reminiscent of the Andrews sisters) I definitely encourage you to check out the Puppini Sisters. They are phenomenal!

    As for the patterns themselves, I have to confess I’m not a big fan. (I seem doomed to only like the autumn collections — muted tones match my wardrobe better.) I have to agree that there’s a very funky 60’s flower power vibe going on with this particular collection, and it’s just a bit too much for me. I also agree that the floral motifs are becoming tiresome — can we have some variety or, if the design must be floral in nature, throw in another element with the flowers (ie, Happy Snails)? Of them all, I most enjoy Summer Cottage. The blue and red-pink tones coupled together make me think of the 4th of July, watermelons, picnics, and summer at its best! However, I am concerned that the white background of this print will really take a beating on purses and totes that are used daily. I’ll have to see more of the collection before I make a decision to risk it or not. Either way, I am always cheered up when I see new things from Vera Bradley. Looking forward to the fall collection!

    • Julie says:

      I like the Summer Cottage too. Had not thought about the white background issue….will have to see in person….could be a deal breaker but the pattern is so beautiful!

  50. Lucie says:

    New colors are vibrant. Priscilla Pink is my favorite. What can you say about Vera style, just wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  51. Cathy says:

    It would be nice to see the older and younger generations together in the ads, as I feel VB has something for everyone! While all the patterns are beautiful, I think some are geared for the younger set and some are geared for the older set. Some patterns are very sophisticated while, for my taste, some are more playful and juvenile. Can’t help but love them all and always look forward to seeing what new patterns they have in store for “everyone”! πŸ™‚

  52. Julie says:

    Does anyone know the style name of the purse that the little girl is carrying when she walks underneath the clothesline in the Doodle Daisy section? Thanks. Hope somone can help:)

  53. Lisa says:

    I am 37 and have been buying Vera Bradley bags for a couple of years. When I first started looking into them, I only saw “older” women carrying them (50+). I hasn’t been until recently that I’ve seen women my age and younger carrying them. I’ve noticed a lot of moms carry them as diaper bags (I carry the Vera for this purpose) and I’ve even seen quite a few teens with Hipsters at the mall. The great thing about Vera is women of all ages can carry them. I no longer think they are for older women.

  54. Pingback: FREE Vera Bradley Desktop Backgrounds in NEW Summer Patterns

  55. Giraffe Pillow Pet says:

    I’m only 11 and I love Limes Up!!

  56. Katie says:

    Im a junior in college and my entire sorority carries a Vera backpack it seems. We also have many hipsters and lunch boxes floating around. I would say a good 90% of us have something Vera.

  57. Abby says:

    Cant wait I know just what to buy my best friend for her birthday in August. She bought me a purse so I really want to get her something great!

  58. Jane says:

    V.B. needs to do some serious west coast marketing. Not sure how though. I’ve been selling the product for about 12 years and there just isn’t the huge interest here, like in the midwest, south and eastern seaboard regions.

  59. denise says:

    love priscilla pink!

  60. Sandy Manning says:

    I like this collection way better than the Spring selections! Can’t wait to see them up close!

  61. Patti says:

    This video moves so fast it is hard to enjoy & view the product! Love Vera though.

  62. Kara says:

    I am in my 30’s and I have been a Vera fan since they introduced Java Blue back in ’05/’06 time frame. They still keep some classic patterns- the paisleys are not all “mod” as some others put it, and some of the florals are very classic as well. But their older style of the french country patterns are no longer in style- instead of appearing classic they now appear dated. The reality is that the group that has the most dispensable income is in their teens and early 20’s. Vera has caught on hot and heavy with this group, and these are the women of tomorrow. By gaining their loyalty at an early age Vera Bradley is ensuring a growing customer base for the future. I could never have imagined myself carrying a Vera 10 years ago, however, just about every purse, tote bag, wallet, and accessory I own now are Vera. I had a baby in December and my diaper bag is Vera. My iPad case is Vera. My wallet is Vera. My makeup bags and travel bags are Vera! My cats have even worn Vera pet collars, and I keep Vera notepaper in my office at work. Though Vera Bradley may have sacraficed a portion of their customer group by doing away with their former pattern trends, they have more than made up for it in recent years with their updated patterns and bag and accessory styles. You can’t be everything to everyone, and Vera has just chosen, as all smart marketers do, to be the most they can to the largest customer base. They do try to keep something for everyone in their line, and I think as a previous poster put it- if you like it, buy it. If not, then don’t!

  63. Amy Elzer says:

    I love the Lime’s Up

  64. KRey says:

    this would be awesome if you could down load this print as a phone background.

  65. Jessica says:

    I am always excited to see a new group come out and the new styles of bags and
    things they made! They are always more beautiful in person I love the Lime Me &
    Pricilla Pink! i wish there was a bag simular to the luch bag but a little big with
    maybe another pocket and call it the Tottler bag or some thing. I have a kid that
    has out grown the baby bag I dont need to carry so much. But I would still like a
    Vera bag i can carry that has enough room for just the basics a place to put a mini
    cooler and juice boxes. and a spot for a change of cloths sense we are potty
    trainning and a spot for a few little toys. And this bag might be helpful for others
    too that dont have a kid. Maybe they dont need to bring somthing as large as the
    Get Carried away, but the lunch date is just not enough! Like a bag to pack to go to
    the zoo or watch fireworks with or a shorter car trip, and want a few sodas and a
    spot for their camera and a swetter if it gets cold. Thanks love ya Vera Bradley!

  66. Candi Bur says:

    My 13 year old daughter loves Vera Bradley and guess what – Justice is starting to carry VB knockoffs! It won’t be long now until every tween on up will be carrying VB…

  67. Cathy says:

    I love Vera!! …So does my daughter..2 daughters-in-law…and 4 little granddaugthers ages 6,4,and 2 1/2. Together, we all have quite a collection!! It should not matter what age or nationality you are if you like Vera!!! Love the new colors…I guess I will be buying some more!! Just don’t tell my hubby!! LOL

  68. Judy Hall says:

    I’m 54 years old and I’m elated with the new patterns geared to the more fashion-minded set. I’, loving the Lime’s Up!

  69. Lisa says:

    Summer Cottage has my vote!

  70. Maissaa says:

    I do have a feeling that this particular collection is targeting the young ones more, in both the pattern styles and the commercial.
    However, maybe it is OK to do so every now and then. It certainly would give me a break from buying one this season, or maybe not, you never know…

  71. deezee says:

    I love the new patterns! I sympathize with customers who like the “classic” patterns but I love the “pop” of the new colors.

    Here’s how I see them:

    Summer Cottage has the brightest wattage,
    Doodle Daisy is meant for day that is lazy,
    Lime’s Up is sure a pick-me-up,
    and Priscilla Pink is a cool summer drink!!

  72. Pam says:

    I’m a recent convert to VB and love the products. Comparing the new and newer patterns to the older discontinued colors, I seem to prefer the “classic” look of the older patterns. The new patterns coming up for summer are too “cutesy” for me (age 68) and seem to be geared for the children. When I go to the VB store it is swamped in children! PLEASE don’t forget us mature customers!

  73. Olivia says:

    What is that backpack at 1:23 in Limes Up? It doesn’t look like the laptop backpack; or, the smaller backpack?

  74. Marcia says:

    I LOVE my Vera.! Just got two new patterns last week. My best friends daughter had a baby girl and her Auntie Marcia said I am buying her her first Vera. Can’t wait til June when her birthday comes and AVA will get her little Vera purse to match her Auntie Marcia;s. Keep those poppin patterns coming Vera! Love Them! Auntie Marcia LOL

  75. Barbara Boyle says:

    I’m 60 and have many Vera bags. Hopefully, in the future, there will be solid bags (besides the black ones) to coordinate with most outfits.

  76. Julie says:

    Geez…I’m 70..and have many Vera bags, duffels and accessories..no way you’re going to tell me I’m too old!! My grand-daughters ,ages 8-21, love them, too! Vera caters to all ages.

  77. Gladys Pelletier says:

    I have loved Vera Bradley for some time I am 66 and love Squared Away , Angel
    Tote , Stephanie , Morgan , just to mention a few .Maybe you all think I’m to old for
    V.B. now . But there light weight ,beautiful and roomy . Have alot of leather ones but they are heavy when empty . So I will continue useing my V.B. . Love you Vera Bradley.

  78. Jade says:

    These patterns are so pretty my favorite is priscilla pink some how it reminds me of pinwheel pink which is my all time favorite

  79. Rachel says:

    I love Summer Cottage! I am in college and I see Vera Bradley all over my university! I think its very popular for 20+

  80. Alaine says:

    Just got every day glasses, sun glasses, and readers. At Eye Masters .They give you a free Vera case for each pair. Love Them !!!! Even some of my purses match them !!!!!!

  81. Linda says:

    I think Vera Bradley is multi-generational – I live in a college town and see tweens to grandmas carrying their favorite patterns. Personally, I’m 52 and wasn’t “into” Vera until Java Blue came out – even my bedskirt and lamp shade are Java Blue. I miss it already and doubt I’ll love another pattern as much!

  82. Dawn says:

    Personally, I’m surprised at all the complaining about how this is all geared toward the younger girls. Think about it – if VB were to focus this ad on 50’s and up (which I am one!), young girls would not look twice at these products. But I have no problem buying something that makes me feel young! I think it shows how cross-generational Vera Bradley products are. I think it’s neat when my son’s girl friends (teenagers) tell me they like my bags. I also think it depends on what part of the country you are in. Where I am, grandmothers, mothers, college students, and teen girls all carry Very Bradley bags. On a recent teen trip I chaperoned, almost every single girl had a VB duffel! So, I look forward to the new product launch – I don’t like every single VB pattern, old or new – but I think every woman can find one VB pattern she likes!!!

  83. Brenda says:

    I agree with a lot of the ladies on here. It would be nice to see women from all generations in your upcoming ads. Vera seems to be targeting a younger and younger age group with each new release recently.

  84. Shirley says:

    I agree with the age thing! I am 75 years old and I have several Vera Bradley. I am a great grandmother also. Everywhere I go I get comments on my purses or whatever I have. Try some older women in your ads!

  85. Fffffs says:

    These patterns look like they came From Walmart 😞

  86. Elizabeth says:

    I sort of like Summer Cottage but that White Background….well, it is going to show every speck of dirt. I wish that VB had offered Summer Cottage with a choice of say a light sage or even an ivory or light blue or some color in the background. Because of the white material that will catch/show every speck of dirt….and material like cotton or whatever VB uses will catch the dirt, I am probably not going to buy any of Summer Cottage. It would be so difficult to keep new looking and pretty.

  87. dawnk777 says:

    I love Doodle Daisy! I wish it fit in my budget! I see women of all ages carrying Vera Bradley stuff!

  88. Sparky says:

    Flower Power! For those of you who missed the preview a couple of months ago, the inside patterns of Limes Up and Doodle Daisy are quite nice. I think Doodle Daisy is a nod to the VB fans who miss Daisy Daisy.

  89. Anne says:

    Vera Bradley is for all women of all ages. I have seen women from 85 years old to 12 years old with her bags. The patterns for the summer, for me are too bold and the colors and the patterns are starting to repeat themselves from bags that were retired! I suggest a smaller pattern with tiny beach umbrellas, flip flops, geometric shapes, diamonds, etc. Shake it up! Don’t worry about the white background because many of us bought Day and Night. Just wash and be careful! I would really like to see different designs and why is the pleated tote going out if it got a 5 star rating????

  90. Arirootie says:

    I am 40 and I love The Vera Bradley brand and love the doodle daisy summer pattern. I introduced the bags to my niece who is 10 and she loves the patterns. I purchased the laptop bag for her this past weekend and she was able to get a free tote. She plans to get the duffle someday and we know who will be buying it for her. I agree that Vera Bradley caters to all age groups, but I also wish their videos featured both teens, young women, and women who are 40+. However, their spring 2012 catalogue features both age groups, so thank you for that. One more thing please include Asians. I would be glad to represent if you need me…just saying.

  91. Michelle says:

    At the idiot racist remarks about it being made in china ….. Really what kind of car do you drive and what kind of phone do you have ? I mean who cares where it’s made go to church and ask for forgiveness ! Humans live every where and we all have to make a living …. FYI I love Vera and don’t care where it’s made

  92. Paula says:

    The point is that Americans need jobs and need to make a living. Check our unemployment. Product production has shifted to other parts of the world. I love
    Vera Bradley products too, but I would also like some of the old patterns in
    muted designs. I have some bags from the 1990’s that fit this category.

  93. Sarah Hendley says:

    I have been obsessed with Vera since I was like 11 and I’m now 14. I have a huge collection and loved it. However I feel that lately there new patterns have just been plain ugly. I feel like I’ve seen some of their new patterns before and they are now repeats. I have and am very disappointed in Vera. Please try new patterns! Would love to start obsessively buying again!

  94. Rose Gadomski says:

    I too am very disappointed to hear that VB is made in China, one of the first reasons I purchased VB was because I was under the impression it was made in America. I may be hard pressed to purchase VB again.

  95. Donna lewis says:

    I am also disappointed in VB being made in China. I’m a huge VB fan. Have 5 total sets of travel items, plus many purses and office items. LOVE all of them.
    However, my favorite patters seem to be the older patterns. Botanica, apple green, americana are a few of my favorites. I did just purchase Suzani, which I love. I wish you wouldn’t introduce so many new patterns so fast. Patterns are retired way too fast, making it hard to complete your set. Very frustrating. Try making new patterns with paisleys, plaids, geometrics, polka dots; anything but more flowers.
    Whether you are aware of it or not, there are a lot of similarity between new and old patterns. Starting to repeat.

  96. Campbell says:

    The thing I love most about VB is that it is accessible to ALL ages. My step daughter was 11 when she announced she wanted a Vera Bradley bag. I gave her a most puzzled look and said “You mean those bags that the grandma lady who quilts always carries…?” I had NO CLUE that Vera Bradley had updated their look, colors, patterns and functionality. The middles school set is WILD about VB. The high school girls also carry them and I see VB all over my college campus. Even we Doctoral students have fallen into the VB craze. I am only 28, and I don’t feel too old or too young to carry VB. Everybody carries it. I personally do not carry a VB bag for every day. As a lawyer I need something a bit more professional, but in every other aspect of my life I find the bags fun and very useful. When we are Disney World each summer my step daughter and I have made a game out of who can see and name the zillions of VB bags we see in the parks. At this point I have too many bags. I can now wait for things I really like or need to come out and go on sale. I DO wish VB would make their bags in the USA. That is a major disappointment.

  97. Patsy Smith says:

    I adore the new collection! I can’t wait for them to be in stores!

  98. Carrie says:

    I am equally shocked and disappointed to hear VB is made in China. I have always enjoyed picking out new bags each year with my daughter, it’s a tradition of ours that has been going on for years! But after hearing this, to be honest, it makes me think we should find a new tradition. It’s hard to justify purchasing goods that have been manufactured elsewhere, especially considering the state of the economy in the US, a place that could greatly benefit from keeping the production local. Vera is such a staple of our culture here, their manufacturing should be embraced and encouraged on our own soil, give back to the people who helped this business grow from the beginning, and who continue to support their growth. Surely VB has enough profits to not need to skimp by outsourcing, come on VB- let’s add some jobs in the USA! Make this right!

  99. Patricia says:

    Just looooove the Priscilla Pink and the Summer Cottage, choices, choices, oh, well I guess I’ll just get something in both or everything in both, as usual!!! Thanks for two patterns I love.

  100. Diane says:

    Only a few VB patterns appeal to me because there is too much done with paisley. Don’t like paisley!

  101. Deirdre says:

    I think the new vibrant colors and patterns are appropriate for summertime. I love how Vera appeals to all ages.
    And, I am amazed over the post by Mary-50 yrs old with a 15 yr old granddaughter! You became a grandmother at 35??

  102. i simply love VB. The Vera bags are so roomy.Everytime a new collection comes out I buy one. I can’t wait for the pink one and all the accessories.

  103. Kayla Lynn says:

    I love Vera. I have for years! I’m only 19, but they are very popular where I go to school. And all my friends here and back home love them too. But I must agree, the reason I fell in love with Vera is because of the classic patterns. I’m young,but I have to with the other women on here, the new patterns are pretty, and I’m in love with Safari Sunset and the brand new Lime’s Up, but I would love to see some of the old patterns make a return. I really miss the Pink Elephants.

  104. barb says:

    i also read on one of the website that when the new patterns come out they will cost more also. vera is raising prices 5% and that is on new and old stuff. so raising prices and not made in us. well just what does that have to say to everyone!

    • deezee says:

      I completely understand your feelings. Vera DOES make some of its products in the U.S., but maybe they’re afraid that the other products won’t sell if they highlight the U.S. purses and backpacks. My favorite store has a dedicated VB clerk and she lets me know which ones are made here. As for the rising prices, well, what isn’t rising? I shop smart — and during the sales! (That’s what makes it fun!!)

  105. Pingback: stuff for spring | everydayclever

  106. Brandy says:

    Ok I totally love these bags – have been a fan a very long time – have well over 25 purses and other accs. VB- but come on ??? What the heck is up with the changing of the patterns so quickly!!! I can’t even enjoy the new purse I just bought and you are already coming out with “summer” patterns- yes I know that no one is forcing me to buy another purse at the moment – but I just don’t remember it being like this before a few years ago – in fact I seem to remember saying – “gosh it’s taken VB forever – when she gonna get some other patterns on the shelves” but not now they change way way too fast !!!! It just seems ridiculous anymore!
    And charging more for these purses? Some one wrote 5% – seriously ? Come on ! Yes they are nice and nice quality and yes things are going up in stores and the economy sucks and yes people will continue to purchase their VB – but really Vera 5% ? does that really need to be done ? I was once told by one of the ladies that works at the store that I mainly purchase my VB at in Hudson that she felt that Vera was starting to get greedy – I didn’t put too much into it because I generally don’t process information regarding people I have never met – but I am really starting to wonder if this is not the case – I love your things Vera – but I think I Iam going to stick right now to my Burberry and my coach! I can at least justify the price tag of those – and I know their designs will never be redundant and loud and occasionally look like they came from Wally World or Dollar General!

  107. Cindy says:

    I don’t care for the new summer patterns, too flowery. Don’t get me wrong, I like flowers, but there are too many patterns using them. I personally don’t care that VB is made in China. They are well-made and of good quality. If they were American made, I believe it would drive the price up. I never buy VB at full price! I love Vera, and I am in my late 40s. My daughter says she sees VB all over her college campus! I think women of all ages can love it, from my niece who is 10, all the way up to 60s and 70s and beyond!

    • Sally says:

      I don’t believe the bags have gotten less expensive since they have been made in China. Whatever VB is saving is not being passed on to the consumer. We need to start caring about where our things are made. We are too dependent on China. I have found some bags at the VB outlet that were made in the USA. Those are the ones I have purchased. There is another brand of cotton quilted bags, very similiar to VB and made here. I’ll be considering those the next time I am in the market for a bag.

  108. LRH says:

    I used to LOVE VB. Every season I would purchase a new pattern. I loved the classic designs and the color schemes were so pretty. I’ve certainly spent a lot of money at the VB store. But, I’ve noticed over the past say 3 years or so, the patterns just keep getting uglier and uglier. A couple of this year’s summer patterns are acceptable, but nothing outstanding. Who is selecting these color schemes?? Just down right dowdy and tacky. Also, why China??!! I expected more from this company.

    • Sally says:

      I agree. I still have my “chicken” bag and my Chocolat pattern. I bought a Paprika bag last year on sale because I liked the style of the bag and the fact that it was made in USA. The bags are not as pretty as they used to be.

  109. Kathleen says:

    Anxious to see the new patterns and styles in person, you pick a
    favorite on line but when you actually see them in the stores your
    change your mind.

  110. Gail says:

    I like Summer Cottage.
    I wish Vera would keep the older patterns around a little bit longer. Right now I’m liking Lemon Parfait which I did not like last summer. Oh well.
    As for Vera being made in China. Get over it. Check out most of your electronics, your computer etc. There is a reason why companies go overseas for production.

    • Sally says:

      I may have no choice with electronics but I do have a choice with my handbags. I have found a brand of beautiful leather bags made in the USA and a brand of lovely quilted cotton bags made here too. I want to support American small business.

      • deezee says:

        Well, remember that a lot of small boutiques here in the US depend on Vera Bradley to stay in business. There are 3 or 4 small boutiques in my town that say that credit Vera with them being able to stay in business in this tough market! Vera is very good to its small retailers.

      • Sally says:

        I’m not just talking about small stores. I am talking about manufacturers who hire people to cut, sew, finish, pack, and ship the bags. I understand the pieces are sent to China to be sewn together. That means costs to ship it over there and back. Why is this necessary? It strikes me as a waste of time and fuel to ship the pieces to China to be finished. I just don’t believe that there are no people here who can do this type of work.

      • deezee says:

        A Vera Bradley rep came to my local store and said that it is VERY hard to find the LARGE NUMBER of seamstresses needed for this kind of work to sustain a manufacturing plant. They already employ 850 seamstresses here in the US. I live in a city with a big manufacturer who makes custom men’s suits and they said that virtually all of their seamstresses are foreign-born and they are hard to replace when they retire. But we can lobby them, can’t we?!

      • Sally says:

        Yes we can. I’m sure in this economy there are plenty of unemployed seamstresses.

  111. rhonda says:

    I have changed my mind. At first my fav was Prissilla PInk and Doodle Daisy. Now looking again I still love the Prissilla Pink ( I always love all the pink patterns!) , but now I like the Lime’s Up better than Doodle Daisy. I am not a big Fan of the Cottage pattern. It is pretty , just not my fav. I love Vera!

  112. Shannon says:

    For the “16 yr old, that thinks VB is grannie purses” and that cannot seem to use people’s names when repsonding to what someone has stated….you are truely showing your age, lack of open mindedness, and lack of thinking…..
    Does not matter what YOU think of other’s purses, or handbags….it matters to THEM and what they like!
    If you do not like it, then simply do not look at it, nor purchase it….
    and yes we are here to express our opinions, but there still has to be some manners.

  113. Judith Wise says:

    I am 71 years old and I was introduced to Vera Bradley in 1981. I received a darling blue paisley quilted book cover with my daughter’s sorority name on it (Kappa Kappa Gamma) at a Mom’s Day Luncheon at Michigan State University. Shortly after, I was given an eye glass case. Thus began my long love affair with Vera Bradley.
    It is not a well-known fact, but Vera Bradley used to carry clothing too.
    I still have a beautiful cotton paisley skirt and quilted jacket from the 1980’s. I can’t seem to give it up.
    No matter how much they have changed, I have always carried Vera Bradley purses.
    I think the purses, and accessories can be worn at any age and they suit every personality, just look around.
    I do get a little annoyed at how quickly the new patterns are introduced, but they do sell. Again, just look around!
    I too, am annoyed by the fact that Vera Bradley is now made in China, I try to “buy American” but in this case, I do make an exception.
    To sum it up, I am a hopeless fan of Vera Bradley!
    Most of my “old/young” friends and my daughters and granddaughters are fans too.

  114. Alexa says:

    Obviously nobody on here is aware of the benefits of outsourcing and how it works. Made in China, Australia, Italy, France… doesn’t matter! I will keep buying Vera because the quality, variety and absolute adorable-ness is constantly bringing me satisfaction! Summer Cottage is on the top of my list for upcoming purchases! So excited!

  115. Melissa says:

    In response to those concerned about China, I just want to vouch for Vera and recognize all the amazing things they do for our area and all the Breast Cancer funds they raise as well. They do manufacture here at Fort Wayne and have several facilities that supply lots of jobs. I’m proud and thankful to have Vera in our area! You ladies are doing a great job.

  116. Sherri says:

    Does anyone know the name of the first bag shown under Lime’s Up? It looks like a cross-body, zips open, and has a mesh top. I have looked on the VB website but I can’t find it. Thanks for the help!

  117. VALERIE says:

    I’m a 48 yr old African American woman who loves VB products and has purchased many items. However, it’s very disconcerting to me that I have never seen in any advertisement, be it online or catalog, that features a woman of color. Any color. It disturbs me that they don’t think enough to market to all women. The only color that should be consistent is green (money).

  118. Nedra Bohannon says:

    I happen to be a new VB fan, I’m a young 72 years old and discovered VB through several of my middle school students. I loved the many pockets inside the purses because I was so tired of digging through my purse to find something especially since I’m a organizational freak. But….I agree with the 50+ age fans I like the older patterns. I have almost all Imperial, Make Me Blush, Botanica and yes, I do have and love Happy Snails. All of these in the past year.

  119. LA Bramante says:

    I am dissapointed to learn that VB outsources to China. Today the August job report came out and the country is still over 8% in unemployment. I believe that a company like VB, which started in the heart of America, ought to search out American workers — there are many out there who need work. I have many handbags, a couple of travel bags and small wristlets that I’ve been given over the years as gifts or purchased on my own. Given that VB is outsourcing now, I will no longer purchase or request a gift from VB. What does VB say for itself regarding their outsourcing?

  120. Deezee says:

    Some VB items ARE made in the U.S. Just ask at the retailers! I think that they should publicize those items. I was told by a company representative that they DO have 850 seamstresses in the U.S.

Leave a Reply

